Idolator ballot adjustment

Eleni Mandell

I forgot to put Eleni Mandell’s lovely, romantic “Miracle of Five” on my list of albums. I will freely admit I wrote out my idolator ballot very quickly since it was distracting me away from more useful pursuits.

Eleni Mandell has a great voice and I think that this is her best album yet. I wish I wrote for fashion magazines so I could put her in there–she’s such a woman, a woman out of old films and noir, a dame and that kind of style should be celebrated. I feel awfully girlish a good percentage of the time. I really admire women who carry themselves as women; I see it less and less in my generation.

This album is totally recommended for a sexy wine dinner with the one you love.  Montreal friends, she’s playing in Quebec constantly.  Go see her.

Also, if I was wholly thinking, I probably would’ve included “We Used To Vacation” by the Cold War Kids since the guy singing in that band has a strange voice. It’s not so…manly, either. It’s one of those songs I heard in a coffee shop and hunted down.

Carl Wilson of Zoilus, you know, I think our ideal singles ballot is very similar. Keep on fighting the good fight!

While I’m talking about music, I wanted to reiterate that it feels really good to have Shearwater’s reissue of Palo Santo on Matador on the list at number one. Several reasons apply. First, it’s too new of an album (with re-recorded songs) to fall under the category of “reissue,” which is for albums that are over 5 years old. Secondly, it’s nice to mention Shearwater. More people should listen to them. I like what the re-recording and remastering did to the songs. Took them out of the low-fi murk. It’s still transcendent work. I’m pretty sure I’ll be listening to the album when I’m a lot older. It’s classic!

It felt sort of nice to leave the Spoon album off the list. I like them, but I think that Britt Daniel’s lyrics are getting actively stupid lately. I don’t know why that is. “Eddie’s Ragga” and “Black Like Me” are total jams but I really get stuck on the “she said it’s hopeless I’m a slut for the New York Times,” or scene, or whatever it is. I don’t know. In some ways, “Black Like Me” is kind of classic, once it gets to that glorious part of “all the weird kids up front-YEAH!-tell me what you’re going to want (or whatever the garble is) -AW YEAH!” but then the song just ends. It kills me. I’d like to hear a lengthy version. I suspect there’s an epic song in there somewhere. That man is joie ladie personified.

Comments Off on Idolator ballot adjustment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.