Remember Okkervil River?

I still really like them.

Signs I’m wildly overtired: This performance got me weepy. Lots of Okkervil River memories in my life, very pleasant ones. If I had to put it in terms relative to the last album, it’s like they’ve been the special guest band in the TV series that is my life. Metaphorically. Like they’re always playing the Peach Pit? Or they’re Buffalo Tom in that My So Called Life episode? This is a weak overtired metaphor. But it’s kind of true.

Additionally: The Wackness could be a huge summer hit, if they market it right. I don’t know if they are. I have some qualms about it, but overall, great movie. I like the director. He said that I could definitely write something on him in the future. Just make sure to tell the press people “we’re homies.” Aw.

Happily, I’m going to a great sounding Shearwater show on Monday. I believe that I will be overtired enough that it will drive me to shaking, shuddering, snotty tears. Weeping. That’s my prediction, at the least.

Occasionally (see “Becky” or “The Kelly Affair”) Be Your Own Pet are the best band ever. Sometimes the lead singer sounds like she’s in Sleater Kinney. I just wish they kept that up!
P.S. Maureen Johnson, Suite Scarlett, it’s delicious.

Comments Off on Remember Okkervil River?

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.